Off To The Peloponnese!

image-1

Midterms are over! Well, almost. Tomorrow I will take my last midterm on the History of Byzantine, and then celebrate all of my hard work by going on a week-long trip to The Peloponnese. Before beginning the second half of my semester, my study abroad program has organized a trip to The Peloponnese to both help everyone refresh their minds and learn more about Greek history and culture. I am really looking forward to this trip. I remember learning about The Peloponnese in my freshman year Ancient Greek History class, all the way back in high school! Greek history is so rich, complex and overall very unique. I would have never thought I would have the opportunity to visit such a renowned sight that I had thoroughly studied. I have heard The Peloponnese is truly beautiful. The views from the many mountaintops overlooking the deep blue sea have left many in awe. I definitely will make sure to take pictures!

Nevertheless, the past week and a half has frankly consisted of much hard work and studying. I would say the midterm I prepared the most for was for my Modern Greek Language course. Greek is not easy. It takes time and practice to memorize only the alphabet along with the sounds of each symbol (which not actually considered letters). While the Greek accent is not too difficult to grasp, memorizing countless words and knowing when to use certain phrases takes skill. I try to practice my Greek often outside the classroom when ordering coffee at the nearby café or by meeting locals at the market. These social interactions have really helped me learn the language better as well as navigate my way around the city.

On a separate note, I cannot believe there are about 5 more weeks left in the semester! Time has truly flown by. I remember my first day in Athens, not knowing what to expect. I was nervous, excited and now soon I will be preparing for finals and then celebrating the end of my entire semester abroad. How incredible. I have learned so much in the number of weeks I have been here in Athens. From my trip to the Greek island of Crete at the beginning of the semester to the many museum visits with nearly all of my courses, I can truly say that I have felt culturally immersed.

Lastly, before my time in Greece is up, there are a few things on my list I have yet to do. One of these things includes visiting the Acropolis! The Acropolis is one of the most popular attractions for all tourists to Greece and the view is said to be absolutely amazing. I need to make my way up there very soon. I have also heard that the beaches in Athens are quite nice. While not as beautiful as the beaches in Santorini or Mykonos, the beaches in Athens are still worth a visit. However, before then I must prepare and get through this last midterm and then enjoy The Peloponnese. I’ll be back soon!

Leave a Reply

